That Time That Twenty-One Pilots Got it Really Right

Hello everyone! I’m a little bit late, but Happy Sunday! I hope your weeks have been great and positive and productive and absolutely nothing like mine!

To use the term “stressed out” to describe me this past week would be an incredible, laughable understatement. From an absolutely crazy week at work to several things going on in my personal life, I have been drained mentally, physically, and emotionally. It’s been a while since I’ve had such a bad week, and it all just crept up on me and hit me all at once!

RUDE.

Because I have anxiety, stress is nothing new to me. I experience stress literally every day. But when it happens like it did this week and just hits like a hurricane- all I can really do is sit in the downpour and wait until it stops. And that’s actually a great example of what this week felt like- a bit of a hurricane. Probably like a category 3. A big part of the issue is that I don’t want anyone to know how stressed I am, so I try to hide it and I don’t talk about it, and then everything builds up until there’s some sort of explosive outburst and everything goes to hell in a hand basket.

So in reference to the title of this entry,  the song “Stressed Out” is my JAM right now.

Not only is it a huge pain to deal with, but stress is incredibly unhealthy. The particularly frustrating thing about it is that it effects all aspects of your life. Looking at it from the perspective of your health, stress can cause fluctuation in eating and sleeping patterns, diminish energy levels, and wreak havoc on your blood pressure and general homeostasis. Aside from issues that are strictly health related, stress has a huge impact on your emotional state and interpersonal interactions. For example: as aforementioned, I’ve been exhausted this week, but my sleep has been fitful at best. I’ve been tossing and turning, waking up every few hours, never really getting a proper REM cycle in. My workouts have been incredibly off kilter and I’m (shockingly) not eating enough to properly keep my body fueled. I also have had to apologize to several people (in both professional and personal relationships) for being short with them or for handling a situation badly. Stress is a monster to deal with, and this week (although I put up a valiant effort) it definitely won.

So going forward into a new week, I am starting on a quest to de-stress myself. None of these stressful situations have gone away (and in fact, some of them have gotten more stressful), but I know that I can’t let my stress and anxiety control the rest of my life. I encourage you all to do the same this week, and shrug off any stress or anxiety that you may have. This week, I am going to:

  • Do at least one thing that I love  and that makes me happy every day.
  • Try my best to leave stress from work at the door when I come home.
  • Count my blessings. Twice.
  • Commit to relaxing before bed (a cup of tea and a book are great for this).
  • Not let my stress get the best of me.

Last week was a rough one, but I’m ready to take on this upcoming week with a fresh outlook and try to start over! What are your favorite ways to de-stress?

Have a great week everyone!

xx Tiffany

Leave a Reply

