Do Your Own Thing

Hey everyone! TGIF, am I right? I hope you have all had an awesome and productive week.

This week started my summer cut and let me tell ya, I am struggling. I am so used to my flexible dieting and I love treating myself and not depriving myself of the *things I love (*read: carbs). So cutting most of that out and being way more strict with myself is definitely something that I’m not used to. While I know that I’ll thank myself a month from now when I’m at the beach (celebrating my 21st birthday !!!!!! Ahhh!!!!!!!) and all summer when I’m rockin’ my bikini, right now all I can think about is Oreos and baguettes. But I really have to decide where my priorities are, and I’m trying to cleanse my system a bit so I’m not struggling so much with the cravings for sugar and junk. It’s only been one week and I’ve already seen some improvement- I’m excited to see how this goes! Also some exciting news- I’m looking into going back to school! I’m still in the process of narrowing down exactly what I want to go back for, but the ideas are in the works! I’ve loved taking my year off, and I’ve learned a lot and gained a lot from it, but I’m ready to get back into pursuing my education. I so detest feeling stagnant in life!

The title of this post is “Do Your Own Thing”- I have a workout tank top with this phrase on it and I’m not quite sure why, but it’s one of my favorites. I felt that it was an appropriate introduction for what I have on my mind. I just wanted to take a second today to talk about being yourself and embracing your uniqueness and all of those little things that really make you who you are. This comes about because it seems as though I have a follower who is taking things a little too far… I understand that imitation is supposed to be the most sincere form of flattery, but it’s gone a little bit past that (and this has been going on for several months now) and honestly, I’m getting a little irritated.

I had to ask myself why it irritated me in the first place. I wanted to inspire people, right? That was my whole goal in starting this blog and my Instagram. And I am glad that maybe I’ve been able to inspire this person- I mean they must think something of me, why else would they be doing any of this? I guess it irritates me partially because: A) I’m trying to make a name for myself and a brand for myself online, and this person is pretty much copying what I’m doing (down to aspects of my personal life, the type of posts that I make, and things that I say) and B) I value so highly the concept of being yourself and expressing the person you truly are, and it makes me sad to see someone using so little of their own originality in something that they’re so “passionate” about.

Everyone borrows a little bit of themselves from other people. It’s only natural. It’s been proven (by some scientists, somewhere, surely) that you pick up idiosyncrasies and habits from the people that you spend a lot of time with. This is natural. This is human nature. But sometimes, people tend to take it to a point where they’re not being who they really are or saying what they really feel- they’re borrowing everything that should make them unique from other people. Seeing this happen to people is so sad and disheartening to me. I firmly believe that people should express themselves and embrace the things that make them unique rather than trying to conform to what they think they “should” be like, what anyone wants them to be like (whether it be friends or family), or what they think that they want to be like. To strive to improve yourself is one thing, but to want to be a totally different person is another. Each person was made unique and has something different to offer the world. Don’t drown out your own unique ideas and opinions and strengths by trying to take on someone else’s.

So I said all of that to say this: be yourself. It’s so much easier and way more rewarding than trying to be someone else. If someone in your life can’t accept you for who you are, they don’t need to be a part of your life anyway.

Also, it would be really rad if this person would cool it with the whole “copycat” thing that’s going on right now.

I hope you guys have a great weekend! As always, e-mail me if you have any questions and find me on Instagram and Twitter at xfittiffx.

xx Tiffany

Leave a Reply

