Thanksgiving AKA Cheat Day

Hey guys! Welcome back! I hope your week has been positive, productive, and successful!

I’ve been having a rough couple of weeks and I’ve really had to work hard to stay positive and to keep my mind on my goals- I’m working on just building my dreams right now! So many goals, so little time… Right now I’m just wondering where to begin! Life is full of so many positive opportunities- I don’t want to miss a single one. You know, “carpe diem” and all that.

So for all of my followers in the States, since we’re coming up on Thanksgiving this week, I’m going to talk about cheat meals and cheat days! Even if you don’t live in the U.S. or don’t celebrate Thanksgiving, at least the first half of this post will apply to you!

I know that a lot of people look at dieting as something that is very restrictive and has to be followed down to the very last calorie, but I like to have a more flexible outlook on diet. In all honesty, one cheat meal isn’t going to kill you. Cheat day is my favorite day of the week. I don’t have to feel bad about eating my Oreos or getting Mexican food or Pad Thai. Cheat day is just an absolutely awesome way to A: reward yourself for being so dang good all the time and B: satisfy your cravings in small amounts rather than binging for a week after being totally deprived. Eating one unhealthy meal isn’t going to make you unhealthy any more than eating one healthy meal would make you healthy. Now that’s not to say that you need to consume an entire week’s worth of food in one day- but I always encourage you to indulge in things that you love that are not included in your diet plan.

So we know that Thanksgiving is all about being thankful (count ya blessin’s folks) but also it is all about really testing the limits of how much food you can fit in your stomach in one sitting (or maybe a couple… some Thanksgiving celebrations last all day). This turkey day, my goal is to eat all of the things that I love and enjoy and to be very thankful that I have the opportunity to do so. I’m going to be thankful that I am in a position where I have to restrict the amount of food I eat- because there are so many in the world who don’t get to eat on a daily basis. While I’m trying to eat less, some people are just trying to eat. So this Thanksgiving, I will be very thankful for every carb I eat, every calorie I count, and every pound I gain.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the negatives- what we don’t have or what we can’t do- but Thanksgiving is really a time to be thankful for the incredible lives that we have. If you’re even able to read this blog, that means that you have access to the internet, a luxury that belongs to only 40% of the world. So this Thanksgiving, hold your family a little closer. Thank God for your food and for all that you’ve been blessed with, even if it doesn’t always seem like much. Be thankful for what you have, and if you don’t have something, be thankful that you live in a place where you have the opportunity to work towards having it. The world can be a cruel place, but for just one day, try to count only your blessings and not your losses.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, I hope you all have a wonderful week and a Happy Thanksgiving! I know I’m looking forward to my biggest cheat day of the year! And let’s not forget about tomorrow…  Get up, get out and never miss a Monday!

xx Tiffany

Leave a Reply

